Shruti Parashar

Statistics

Google Maps statistics, traced to source

Google's own usage figures, the Local Guides programme's real headcounts, the March 2026 Ask Maps launch and Maps-specific ranking factors — graded on provenance, including a photo-engagement claim that doesn't survive a check against Google's current documentation.

Shruti Parashar Verified 8 September 2026

Most 'Google Maps statistics' pages are actually local pack statistics pages wearing a different title — the same click-through and ranking-factor material repeated under a Maps-shaped headline. This page keeps the two figures that genuinely belong to both topics, then goes into territory specific to Google Maps as a product.

That territory is: how many people actually use it, what Google's own Local Guides programme discloses about its size, and the Gemini-powered Ask Maps feature that launched in March 2026. It then covers which Maps-specific display factors — photos, 360° tours, authority reviewers — score separately in Whitespark's ranking survey, what a profile view actually turns into, and how many outside websites and apps run on the Maps platform itself.

For the fuller local pack and Google Business Profile ranking-factor breakdown — including the 2023–2026 trend data behind which factors are rising and falling — see the local SEO statistics page. This page goes deeper on Maps specifically rather than repeating that ground.

If you want the working method rather than the numbers, the Google Maps SEO guide turns this evidence into a sequence, and our research methodology explains how each grade on this page was assigned.

How the grading works

The grading is deliberately unforgiving. A statistic from a good organisation still earns a C if the sample size is not published beside the number, because a reader cannot check what they cannot see.

A

Cite freely

Primary source, dated, with sample and method published. Quote it, with its scope attached.

B

Cite with scope

Real research with a published sample, but narrower than the way it is usually quoted — self-reported, or one country, or one kind of business.

C

Cite with caution

Named source and plausible method, but the sample size or methodology is not published where the number is. Attribute it, do not lean on it.

D

Do not cite

Untraceable, undated, or superseded by later changes to the thing it measured. These are the numbers keeping the roundups alive.

The local pack's three positions get almost the same share of clicks

This is the most useful and least appreciated fact in local search: unlike organic results, where position one dominates, the three local pack slots convert at nearly identical rates.

17.6%

Grade C

of local pack impressions click position 1, against 15.4% for position 2 and 15.1% for position 3 — a much flatter curve than organic search.

Data year
2025
Sample
Not disclosed — described as a meta-analysis of multiple sources plus internal data
Geography
Not stated
Method
Meta-analysis blending several secondary sources

What it does not say Compare this to organic position 1 at 39.8% versus position 3 at 10.2% in the same report — nearly a 4-to-1 gap. In the local pack the gap between first and third is barely 2.5 points. Ranking #3 in the pack is a far better outcome than ranking #3 organically, and most reporting doesn't reflect that.

Google Business Profile signals carry the most weight, by expert consensus

As with general local ranking factors, this is aggregated professional judgement rather than a measurement of actual ranking data — the same 47-practitioner survey underlies both this figure and the Maps-specific factors further down this page.

32%

Grade B

of local pack ranking weight is attributed to Google Business Profile signals by surveyed experts — the largest single category, ahead of reviews (20%), on-page signals (15%), behavioural signals (9%), links (8%), citations (6%) and social (5%).

Data year
2025–2026
Sample
47 invited experts
Geography
International practitioners, North America weighted
Method
Expert opinion survey, category weights derived from factor scores

What it does not say This is 47 experienced people's collective judgement about what matters, not a regression run against real ranking data. Within the GBP category, the three highest-weighted individual factors are reported as primary category selection, proximity to the searcher, and keywords in the business title — again as expert consensus, not measured effect size. For the fuller ranking-factor breakdown and the 2023–2026 trend data, see the local SEO statistics page linked below.

Google's own numbers for Maps grew visibly between early 2025 and early 2026

Google discloses Maps' scale rarely, but when it does, the figures come with round numbers and no published methodology beyond "we counted." Two disclosures eight months apart give an unusually direct before-and-after.

2 billion+

Grade A

people use Google Maps every month, per Google's own count.

Data year
2025
Sample
N/A — company-wide usage disclosure, not a survey
Geography
Global
Method
Company disclosure, no published measurement methodology

What it does not say Published 6 February 2025 to mark the product's 20th anniversary. Google does not publish how this figure is measured (accounts, devices, or sessions), which is common for platform-scale disclosures and the reason this is graded A for provenance rather than for methodological transparency.

300 million

Grade A

places Google Maps covers, according to Google's March 2026 Ask Maps announcement — up from the 250 million Google cited in its own 20th-anniversary post thirteen months earlier, and again in an April 2025 Google Maps Platform post giving the identical 250 million figure.

Data year
2025–2026
Sample
N/A — company-wide usage disclosure
Geography
Global
Method
Company disclosure

What it does not say Two independent Google posts eight weeks apart (20th-anniversary, February 2025; Maps Platform, April 2025) agree on 250 million, which is the kind of internal consistency that makes a company disclosure worth more than a single unverifiable number. The jump to 300 million by March 2026 is treated here as evidence of continued growth, not as a precisely reconciled headcount — Google has never published what changed in the underlying definition, if anything did.

500 million

Grade A

people contribute information to Google Maps every year — reviews, photos, ratings, edits and traffic and driving-disruption reports.

Data year
2025
Sample
N/A — company-wide usage disclosure
Geography
Global
Method
Company disclosure

What it does not say Repeated at the same figure in Google's March 2026 Ask Maps post, more than a year later, which is corroboration Google itself chose not to update the number rather than confirmation the underlying count is unchanged.

What this means for how much a single business profile matters

Two billion monthly users and 500 million annual contributors describe an information system, not a directory. A Google Business Profile isn't competing for placement in a static list; it's one of hundreds of millions of inputs into a map that gets rewritten 100 million times a day, according to the same 20th-anniversary disclosure.

That scale is also the honest reason a single profile's influence on the wider map is genuinely small. The leverage a business has is entirely local to its own listing and its own searchers, not to the dataset as a whole.

The practical takeaway is not "Google Maps is huge, therefore ranking matters more" — it's that the map itself updates constantly regardless of any one business, and staying current (hours, services, photos) is the only lever a business actually controls inside a system this size. The Google Business Profile optimisation guide covers what "current" means field by field.

Ask Maps put a Gemini-powered assistant directly inside the map, from March 2026

This is the newest structural change covered on this page, launched six months before this page's last verification date, and it changes what "being found on Google Maps" can mean.

12 March 2026

Grade A

is the date Google announced Ask Maps, a Gemini-powered conversational feature that answers complex, natural-language questions ("where can I charge my phone without a long coffee-shop queue?") by drawing on Google's places and contributor database, alongside Immersive Navigation, a redesigned 3D driving view built from Street View imagery.

Data year
2026
Sample
N/A — product announcement
Geography
Launched in the United States and India; expanded to 150+ countries from August 2026
Method
Company announcement

What it does not say Google's own framing places this as the biggest change to Maps navigation since Street View launched in 2007 — a company's characterisation of its own product, not an independent assessment, and treated as such here.

Ask Maps works by combining a user's search history and saved places with Google's database of contributor content — reviews, photos, ratings, hours — to answer a question rather than return a ranked list.

Immersive Navigation, the companion feature, builds its 3D driving view partly from Street View imagery. That is the first time Street View's role has extended beyond a static "look at the storefront" feature into the live navigation experience itself.

What this means for a Business Profile, and what nobody can measure yet

Because Ask Maps answers a question rather than lists results, a business's chance of being the specific place it names depends on how completely and accurately its profile answers that kind of question.

A business without stated amenities, current hours or a category that matches how people actually ask about it is harder for a system like this to select — the same logic that makes profile completeness matter to the local pack, and the same shift covered in the guide to local SEO for AI search.

No substantial independent study of how Ask Maps selects or ranks the businesses it names had been identified in the sources reviewed on 8 September 2026. The feature was six months old at that point, rolled out to only two countries at launch, and Google has not published a ranking methodology for it.

That absence is stated plainly rather than filled with a guess: this is a real, dated structural change worth knowing about, not yet a measured one.

The Local Guides programme, in Google's own headcounts — and where Google stopped counting

Local Guides is the volunteer contributor programme behind a meaningful share of Google Maps' reviews and photos. Google has published a total headcount only occasionally, and the trail runs out earlier than most 2026 roundups admit.

150 million

Grade B

Local Guides worldwide, the most recent total Google has published under that specific name.

Data year
2021
Sample
N/A — company disclosure
Geography
Global, described as spanning more than 200 countries
Method
Company disclosure

What it does not say Published 11 March 2021. This is the newest Local Guides headcount traceable to a Google source in the research for this page — no later blog post, help-centre page or company statement naming a current Local Guides total was identified in the sources reviewed on 8 September 2026, despite the programme continuing to run. Treat any figure above 150 million circulating in a 2026 roundup as unverified until a Google source is found for it.

120 million

Grade B

Local Guides across 24,000 cities and towns, the figure Google gave sixteen months earlier.

Data year
2019
Sample
N/A — company disclosure
Geography
Global
Method
Company disclosure

What it does not say Published 15 November 2019, kept here purely to show the growth curve against the 2021 figure above — not as a current statistic. Both are now historical: five and seven years old respectively, against a page verified in 2026.

What this means for citing a Local Guides total

The honest answer to "how many Local Guides are there" is: at least 150 million as of March 2021, and unknown since. Google published headcounts roughly annually from 2017 through 2021 — 30 million, then 60 million, then 120 million, then 150 million — and then appears to have stopped.

That is worth stating as a gap rather than papering over with an invented current number. It is also a reasonable signal in itself: a programme still running, still visibly active inside the product, that its own operator has not chosen to keep publicly quantifying.

The connection to ranking is direct. Whitespark's 2026 Local Search Ranking Factors survey scores "High Numerical Ratings by Authority Reviewers (e.g. Yelp Elite, Google Local Guides)" at 101 points (rank 59 of 187) and "Quantity of Reviews by Authority Reviewers" at 82 points (rank 100 of 187).

That is evidence the surveyed practitioners believe Local Guides-authored reviews carry more ranking weight than an equivalent review from an unranked account — not evidence of the size of that effect. The wider local review statistics cover what reviews do to choice as well as to ranking; the full Maps-specific factor table sits further down this page.

The Maps-specific ranking factors Whitespark scores separately from the general GBP category

Whitespark's 2026 survey treats "local pack" and "Maps" as one combined ranking surface, not two — its own report heading reads "local pack/Maps rankings." Within that combined list sit several factors specific to what a Maps listing physically shows, rather than to Google Business Profile completeness in general. None of them appear in the ranking-factor table already published on the local SEO statistics page.

Maps-display-specific ranking factors, Whitespark Local Search Ranking Factors 2026
Factor Rank of 187 Score
Photo & video quality (resolution, clarity, not stock)45108
Quantity of user-uploaded photos7694
Recency of photos uploaded to the profile8989
High numerical ratings by authority reviewers (e.g. Google Local Guides)59101
Quantity of reviews by authority reviewers10082
Presence of 360° tours / Immersive View14955

Aggregated 0–5 expert-panel scores across 47 respondents, not a measured ranking correlation — the same survey and the same caution as the 32% GBP-weighting figure above. Ranked out of 187 total factors covering local pack, local organic, conversion and AI search visibility combined. Source: Whitespark, Local Search Ranking Factors 2026

What this means for where photo and Street View effort actually sits

The gap between these six factors is the useful finding, not any single score. Photo and video quality (108) and the quantity of user-uploaded photos (94) rank meaningfully higher than the presence of a 360° tour (55) — the panel scores ordinary photo volume and quality well above a full virtual walkthrough.

That argues for prioritising a steady stream of real, current, category-relevant photos over commissioning a one-off 360° tour, if a business has to choose where to spend a limited budget. A 360° tour still scores above roughly a third of the full 187-factor list, though, so "skip it entirely" isn't what the data supports either.

Recency (89) sitting close to raw quantity (94) also argues against a one-time photo upload followed by years of silence: the panel treats freshness as carrying nearly as much weight as volume.

What a Maps profile view actually turns into: directions, a call, or a website click

This is genuinely dated data — the only sampled, methodology-published study of this specific split that was identified in the research for this page is nearly a decade old. It's included with that caveat stated plainly, because no more recent equivalent replaced it.

14

Grade B

direction requests per month is the median for a US Google Business Profile — ranging up to 298 a month for the highest-traffic category measured, hotels.

Data year
2017–2018
Sample
45,264 anonymised Google Business Profile listings across 36 industries
Geography
United States (32,843), United Kingdom (5,651), Australia (3,857), Canada (2,913)
Method
Aggregated Google My Business Insights data, medians used rather than means

What it does not say Collection window was September 2017 to December 2018 — before Posts, the current Q&A format, messaging, Products and most of the profile features that exist in 2026. No substantial, similarly sampled and dated update to this specific study was identified in the sources reviewed on 8 September 2026. Treat the shape of the finding (direction requests as the smallest of the three action types) as more durable than the precise numbers.

Share of Google Business Profile actions by type

Direction requests were the smallest of the three measured action types even in this dataset's highest-request categories — website visits and calls both outweighed them.

Website visits
56 %
Phone calls
27 %
Direction requests
17 %

Scale 0–100%. n=45,264 US, UK, Australian and Canadian listings; medians, September 2017–December 2018. Source: BrightLocal, Google My Business Insights Study

What this means for reading your own Performance report

Because this dataset predates most of the current profile, treat the 56/27/17 split as a historical baseline to compare your own numbers against, not as a current target.

If your own profile's direction-request share is far above this range, that's more likely to mean your category is genuinely destination-led than that anything is wrong — a category like hotels sat at 298 monthly direction requests in this same dataset, twenty times the median.

The comparison this data is actually useful for is trend within your own profile over time, where the fixed vintage of the benchmark doesn't matter. Whether that trend is telling you anything at all is a separate question, covered in how to tell if SEO is working.

Google Maps away from the map itself: how many sites and apps embed it

Every store-locator page, delivery-radius checker and embedded "find us" widget on a business's own website is very likely running on the same underlying platform as the consumer Maps app — a different business relationship with Google Maps that most local SEO reporting doesn't measure at all.

10 million+

Grade A

websites and apps run on Google Maps Platform, Google's developer-facing product.

Data year
2025
Sample
N/A — company disclosure
Geography
Global
Method
Company disclosure

What it does not say Published 9 April 2025. The same post states the platform gives developers access to "more than 250 million places and Street View imagery across more than 110 countries," the same 250 million figure Google's consumer-facing 20th-anniversary post gave two months earlier — independent corroboration between two different parts of the company, which is worth more than either figure alone.

What this means for a business's own website

A "find us" map embed, a directions link, or a delivery-radius tool on a business's own site is, in practical terms, a second surface running on the same infrastructure as the consumer Maps app.

It inherits the same trade-off every embedded map does: a live, interactive map widget is heavier to load than a static image with a link that opens Google Maps in a new tab. For a local business site where page speed is already a known constraint, the static-link version usually serves the actual customer need — get directions — without the load-time cost.

Page-speed statistics for local business sites cover that trade-off in more detail than belongs on this page, and the FOUND → TRUSTED → CHOSEN framework sets out why a directions link is a CHOSEN problem rather than a ranking one.

The numbers that did not survive the trace

These appear in current statistics roundups. Each one fails on provenance, and quoting them transfers the failure to you.

55%

Do not cite

of local pack ranking decisions are determined by proximity alone.

Traced to Circulates attributed to Whitespark's survey, phrasing varies by source.

Different sites report this as "55% of ranking decisions," "55% weight," and "the single most important factor" — three different claims dressed as the same statistic. No page stating this figure links to where in Whitespark's report it appears, and it does not match the category breakdown Whitespark itself publishes (proximity is a factor within, not separate from, the 32% GBP-signals category above). Treat it as a garbled restatement rather than a citable figure.

40–60%

Do not cite

more clicks for local pack results than the organic listings directly below them.

Traced to Repeated across dozens of local SEO blogs with no attributed source.

No study, survey, or named organisation is ever credited with this range — it appears to be a plausible-sounding estimate that became citation-free common knowledge through repetition. No substantial published study was identified in the sources reviewed on 8 September 2026.

42% / 35%

Do not cite

more direction requests and more website clicks, respectively, for Google Business Profiles that have photos compared with those that don't.

Traced to Traced to a Google My Business blog post from 2016, itself citing a 2014 Google/Oxera study. Neither the 2016 post nor the underlying study could be located at a live URL during research for this page.

Checked directly against Google's current, live Business Profile Help documentation on managing and adding photos on 8 September 2026: neither page states this figure, or any percentage, for photos' effect on direction requests or website clicks. The claim also drifts in current circulation — some 2026-era sources now attach the identical 42%/35% figures specifically to 360° photos or to profiles with 100+ photos, changes to the underlying claim with no new study behind either version. A number that was once traceable to Google, that Google no longer states, and that is now being reattached to a narrower claim than the original, is a textbook case for exclusion rather than a hedge.

20/16/10 vs. 40%/36%/24%

Do not cite

two incompatible breakdowns of monthly Google Business Profile actions (website visits, direction requests, calls) both currently circulating as "the" 2026 figure.

Traced to Multiple uncredited 2025–2026 local SEO statistics roundups, neither citing a named study.

Neither version names a source, a sample size, or a collection date, and the two don't agree with each other, let alone with the one dated, sampled, sourced study on this exact question — BrightLocal's Google My Business Insights Study, covered above with its actual 56/27/17 split. Where a widely repeated figure directly contradicts the one traceable study on the same question and cites nothing itself, the traceable study wins and the untraceable figures are excluded.

How this page is made and how to cite it

Each figure was traced to its original report or, where available, Google's own official blog and developer-platform posts.

Where the same claim appeared with materially different wording or numbers across sources — a sign it has drifted from its origin through repeated paraphrase — it was checked against the primary source directly rather than taken from the version most commonly repeated.

Two claims that could not be relocated at a live, current URL are documented in the do-not-cite section below rather than included with a hedge.

Last verified: 8 September 2026. Reviewed quarterly.

Preferred citation Parashar, S. (2026). Google Maps statistics, traced to source. shrutiparashar.com/statistics/google-maps/

Questions

Does it matter whether I rank #1, #2 or #3 in the local pack?
Less than most reporting suggests. First Page Sage's click-through-rate analysis puts local pack position 1 at 17.6%, position 2 at 15.4% and position 3 at 15.1% — a gap of only 2.5 points across all three positions. Compare that to organic search, where position 1 gets 39.8% against 10.2% for position 3, roughly a 4-to-1 gap. Appearing anywhere in the local pack matters far more than which of the three slots you occupy.
How much does proximity affect Google Maps rankings?
It matters a great deal, but the specific '55% of ranking decisions' figure widely attributed to Whitespark's research does not appear in the form it's usually quoted, and phrasing varies inconsistently across the sites repeating it. What Whitespark's own published category breakdown shows is that Google Business Profile signals — which include proximity as one factor among several — account for roughly 32% of ranking weight by expert consensus, the largest single category. That is expert opinion aggregated from 47 practitioners, not a measurement of Google's actual algorithm.
Are Google Maps ranking factors based on real ranking data?
No. The primary industry reference, Whitespark's Local Search Ranking Factors, surveys 47 invited local search practitioners on 187 factors and aggregates their professional judgement. It is presented accurately by Whitespark as expert opinion. A factor or category ranked highly reflects what experienced practitioners believe matters, which is different evidence from a correlation or causation study of actual rankings.
How many people actually use Google Maps?
More than 2 billion people every month, according to Google's own disclosure in a February 2025 blog post marking the product's 20th anniversary. The same post states Google Maps provided 1 trillion kilometres of turn-by-turn directions in 2024 and that 500 million people contribute information to the map — reviews, photos, ratings, edits and traffic reports — every year. Google doesn't publish how the 2 billion figure is measured, so it's graded as a company disclosure rather than an independently audited number.
What is Ask Maps, and when did it launch?
Ask Maps is a Gemini-powered conversational feature Google announced on 12 March 2026, letting users ask complex natural-language questions about places rather than search with keywords. It launched in the United States and India, with a wider rollout to 150-plus countries beginning in August 2026. Google frames it as the biggest change to Maps navigation since Street View launched in 2007 — its own characterisation of its own product. No independent study of how Ask Maps selects which businesses it names had been identified in the sources reviewed on 8 September 2026, because the feature was only six months old at that point.
How many Google Local Guides are there?
The most recent total Google has published under the Local Guides name is 150 million, stated in a Google blog post from March 2021. No newer official headcount was identified in the sources reviewed on 8 September 2026, despite the programme continuing to run — Google published roughly annual totals from 2017 (30 million) through 2021 (150 million) and then appears to have stopped disclosing the number. Any figure above 150 million attributed to Google in a current roundup should be treated as unverified until a source is found.
Do photos on a Google Business Profile actually increase direction requests and clicks?
Almost certainly they help — photo quality and quantity both score well inside Whitespark's 2026 ranking-factor survey — but the specific, widely repeated '42% more direction requests, 35% more website clicks' figure does not appear anywhere in Google's current, live Business Profile Help documentation, checked directly on 8 September 2026. It traces back to a 2016 Google blog post citing a 2014 study that could not be located at a working URL, and the same numbers are now also being reattached to narrower claims — 360° photos specifically, or profiles with 100-plus photos — with no new research behind either version. Treat the underlying direction (photos help) as sound and the specific percentage as unverifiable.
Does a Street View or 360° virtual tour help a Google Business Profile rank?
Whitespark's 2026 panel scores 'Presence of 360° Tours / Immersive View' at 55 points, ranked 149th of 187 factors — a real but comparatively modest weighting, well below ordinary photo quality (108 points, ranked 45th) and photo quantity (94 points, ranked 76th). For a business choosing where to spend a limited budget, the survey data argues for a steady stream of ordinary, current, category-relevant photos before commissioning a 360° tour, though the tour still outranks roughly a third of the full factor list.
How many businesses actually use the Google Maps API on their own website?
More than 10 million websites and apps run on Google Maps Platform, the developer-facing product behind embedded maps, store locators and directions widgets, according to Google's own April 2025 disclosure. That figure is separate from Google Maps the consumer app and describes businesses building on the platform rather than being listed on it.
What share of Google Business Profile activity is people asking for directions, versus calling or visiting the website?
In the only sampled, methodology-published study identified for this page — BrightLocal's Google My Business Insights Study, covering 45,264 listings from September 2017 to December 2018 — website visits accounted for roughly 56% of profile actions, calls 27%, and direction requests the remaining 17%, with a median of 14 direction requests a month. That data predates most of the current Business Profile feature set, so it's presented as a historical baseline rather than a current benchmark. Contradictory, unsourced 'GBP action breakdown' figures circulate for 2025–2026 with no named study behind either version — see the do-not-cite section on this page.

Related reading: our research methodology , Local SEO statistics , Google Business Profile statistics , page-speed statistics for local business sites .

For the numbers on adjacent topics, see the rest of the archive.

Start here

Ranking #4 usually means invisible.

Send your profile and target area — we'll show you the real picture.

Replies usually go out within one working day.