Shruti Parashar

Statistics

Google Business Profile statistics, traced to source

Verification, completeness, photos, suspensions and category mechanics, graded on provenance — including several numbers that appear to be simply invented.

Shruti Parashar Verified 8 September 2026

Google Business Profile statistics are unusually prone to a specific failure: a plausible-sounding number gets attributed to Google or to a known research firm, repeats across a hundred roundups, and never once links to an actual page where it was published. This page traces what can be traced, and names what can't.

Two populations get conflated constantly in this category. Enterprise data from reputation-management vendors describes multi-location brands that already pay for the problem to be managed. Self-reported small-business survey data describes a much less resourced population. Treat any Google Business Profile statistic that doesn't say which one it's describing with real suspicion.

Three of the platform's interactive features — Q&A, native chat and Posts — get lumped together in most optimisation guides despite being in genuinely different states as of this update: one Google finished retiring at the end of 2025, one it retired in mid-2024, and one has no verifiable adoption data behind the numbers usually quoted for it.

This update separates the three, and adds the photo-engagement and category-mechanics evidence the earlier version of this page didn't cover. Where a profile sits in the wider picture is set out in the FOUND → TRUSTED → CHOSEN framework.

How the grading works

The grading is deliberately unforgiving. A statistic from a good organisation still earns a C if the sample size is not published beside the number, because a reader cannot check what they cannot see.

A

Cite freely

Primary source, dated, with sample and method published. Quote it, with its scope attached.

B

Cite with scope

Real research with a published sample, but narrower than the way it is usually quoted — self-reported, or one country, or one kind of business.

C

Cite with caution

Named source and plausible method, but the sample size or methodology is not published where the number is. Attribute it, do not lean on it.

D

Do not cite

Untraceable, undated, or superseded by later changes to the thing it measured. These are the numbers keeping the roundups alive.

Verification and completeness are both worse than the roundups say

The most commonly cited completeness numbers come from a survey of businesses that have already adopted software to manage the problem, which is not the same population as local business generally. What a complete profile actually involves is set out step by step in the Business Profile optimisation guide.

35%

Grade B

of US SMBs say they have a Google Business Profile at all.

Data year
2025
Sample
778 SMB owners and managers
Geography
United States
Method
Self-reported survey

What it does not say Self-reported, and profiles are frequently auto-generated by Google without an owner claiming them — so the true figure for a profile existing, versus an owner knowing it exists, are two different numbers this survey cannot separate.

76%

Grade C

of profiles managed by large multi-location brands using Birdeye were verified in 2025, up from 71% in 2024.

Data year
2025
Sample
Not published; described as "the biggest global brands using Birdeye"
Geography
Not stated, predominantly enterprise
Method
Platform usage data

What it does not say This is the enterprise ceiling, not the small-business reality. Large multi-location brands with dedicated software are the best-resourced end of the spectrum, and the sample size is not disclosed — the exact opposite population to the 35% figure above.

<1

Grade C

average number of photos on a verified profile among Birdeye's tracked brands.

Data year
2025
Sample
Not published
Geography
Not stated
Method
Platform usage data

What it does not say Worth sitting with: even among enterprise brands paying for reputation software, the median profile is under-photographed. There is no reason to expect an independent local business does better.

14 days

Grade A

is how long Google says most postcard verification codes take to arrive, with codes expiring 30 days after they're requested.

Data year
2026
Sample
Not applicable — official product documentation
Geography
Global; postal timelines vary by country
Method
Official platform documentation

5 business days

Grade A

is the additional review window Google states for any verification method, on top of however long the method itself takes to deliver a code or complete a video review.

Data year
2026
Sample
Not applicable — official product documentation
Geography
Global
Method
Official platform documentation

What it does not say Easy to miss because it's stated separately from each method's own delivery time — an owner who reads only "14 days" for postcard verification will be surprised the code doesn't verify the listing the moment it's entered.

Google Business Profile verification methods and stated timelines
Method Typical timeline Notes
Phone or text (SMS)MinutesCode sent to the phone number already on the profile; not offered for every business.
EmailMinutesSent to the business email address linked to the profile.
Live video callUp to 5 business daysGoogle reviews the recording; common for service-area and home-based businesses without a public storefront.
Postcard by mailMost codes arrive within 14 daysCodes expire 30 days after they're requested — the slowest method, and the one many businesses default into.
Instant (Search Console / bulk)ImmediateOnly available with an existing verified website in Search Console, or when verifying 10+ locations at once.

"Verification review can take up to 5 business days" on top of each method's own delivery time, per Google's own documentation — so a postcard verification can realistically run close to three weeks door-to-dashboard, not the 14 days usually quoted alone. Source: Google Business Profile Help, Verify your business on Google

What this means for a business waiting on verification

The 14-day postcard figure is the one most owners remember, and it understates the real wait by roughly a working week once the review period is added. A business defaulted into postcard verification — commonly service-area businesses and newly created listings with no Search Console history — should budget close to three weeks from request to a live, fully editable profile, not two.

That gap is commercially relevant: an unverified profile can still surface in search and Maps, but it can't be edited by its real owner, can't run Posts, and is an easier target for a spam actor's suggested edit to slip through uncontested, because there's no verified owner in a position to dispute the change.

Getting the underlying name, address and phone details consistent first — the discipline covered in the local citation building guide — makes the verification review itself less likely to stall.

Video verification exists specifically for businesses postcard mail serves badly — home-based operators who don't want a marked postcard sitting on a residential doorstep, and service-area businesses with no storefront to photograph for a courier.

It still carries the same five-business-day review layered on top, so it isn't necessarily faster than waiting for the post; it's simply more private.

Suspensions are rising, and Google has not said why

There is no published dataset on Google Business Profile suspension rates. What exists is expert forum-monitoring, which is a real and useful signal, but a different kind of evidence from a measured study — a distinction the grading method behind this page takes seriously.

5 days → 5 weeks

Grade C

the typical Google Business Profile suspension appeal timeline stretched between early 2025 and early 2026, according to forum monitoring.

Data year
2026
Sample
Not a sample — direct monitoring of the Google Business Profile Support Forum
Geography
Not stated, forum is predominantly English-language and US-heavy
Method
Expert practitioner observation of public forum activity

What it does not say Blumenthal is a genuinely credible, named authority on this specific topic, and states his method plainly. It is not a study with a sample or a control group — it is a documented pattern from someone positioned to see one. Cite it as expert observation, not as measurement.

What this means for why nobody can give you a suspension rate

Google doesn't publish a suspension count, an appeal volume, or a reinstatement success rate, and no independent organisation has produced a study with a disclosed, representative sample either — which is exactly the gap the fabricated "35% suspended every year" figure catalogued below exists to fill.

What's actually available is forum monitoring by named, credentialed practitioners such as Blumenthal, and it carries a specific bias worth naming rather than smoothing over: a support forum only sees the businesses that showed up to complain, not the ones suspended quietly who resolved it through the standard process, or gave up.

That doesn't make the signal worthless — a trained observer watching the same forum for years is a reasonable proxy for direction of travel — but it can produce a trend, not a rate, and roundups constantly present the two as interchangeable.

The practical implication for an owner is unglamorous: there is no reliable published basis for estimating your own odds of suspension, so the case for prevention — accurate NAP, an address that genuinely matches signage, no bulk edits from an unmanaged account, no category or address change made without expecting a re-verification prompt — doesn't rest on knowing the probability.

It rests on the fact that reinstatement, when it happens, now appears to run four to five weeks by every practitioner account reviewed for this page, long enough that a documented recovery process matters more than trying to predict whether it happens to you.

Photo count correlates with real engagement — the exact multiplier everyone quotes doesn't survive a source check

Two different kinds of evidence exist here, and they point the same direction without agreeing on a number. One is a large, disclosed-sample study that is honest about its own limits. The other is a widely repeated Google-attributed figure that no longer traces to anything Google currently publishes.

520–2,717%

Grade B

more calls, direction requests and website clicks that Business Profiles with 100+ photos received compared with the average business in BrightLocal's dataset — specifically 520% more calls, 2,717% more direction requests and 1,065% more website clicks.

Data year
September 2017 – December 2018
Sample
45,264 businesses across 36 industries in the US, Canada, Australia and the UK
Geography
US, Canada, Australia, UK
Method
Aggregated Google My Business Insights data

What it does not say Genuinely disclosed research — sample, industries, countries and dates are all published, and the authors flag their own confound: businesses with 100+ photos may simply be better at Google Business Profile management overall, not better specifically because of the photo count. It is also eight years old, collected on the pre-rebrand Google My Business interface, so treat the direction of the finding as more durable than the exact percentages.

11

Grade B

was the median number of photos on a listing across BrightLocal's full sample.

Data year
September 2017 – December 2018
Sample
45,264 businesses across 36 industries in the US, Canada, Australia and the UK
Geography
US, Canada, Australia, UK
Method
Aggregated Google My Business Insights data

What it does not say Worth reading against Birdeye's under-1-photo enterprise average in the section above: two credible datasets, collected roughly seven years apart on different populations, and neither supports the idea that a well-photographed profile is typical.

Average photo count by Google Business Profile ranking position

Profiles holding a top-3 position carry meaningfully more photos than the ones sitting just below — a correlation, not proof that adding photos alone moves rank.

Positions 1–3
250
Positions 4–10
200
Positions 11–20
170

Scale 0–300. More than 2 million Google Business Profiles analysed; exact sampling method and date range not published in full. Source: Localo, Analysis of 2 million Google Business Profiles

What this means for how much photo effort is worth it

Both real datasets point the same direction without agreeing on a number, which is the honest state of the evidence: more photos correlates with more engagement, consistently, across a 2017–2018 sample of 45,000 listings and a newer analysis of more than 2 million profiles. The engagement side of that picture — calls, direction requests and the surfaces they come from — is collected on the Google Maps statistics page.

Neither dataset proves that uploading photo fifty causes the effect rather than simply marking a business that manages its whole profile well — the kind of business that also responds to reviews, keeps hours current and fills in every attribute. Photo count is best read as a symptom of overall profile diligence that Google's systems appear to reward, not as an isolated lever to pull on its own.

The specific "42% more direction requests, 35% more website clicks" figure that circulates attributed simply to Google doesn't belong in that picture — it fails the same trace-to-source test as the completeness figures earlier on this page, and is catalogued in the do-not-cite section below rather than repeated here as fact.

Posts, Q&A and native chat: one is unverifiable, one is retired, one is already gone

Three of Google Business Profile's interactive features get lumped together in most optimisation guides, and as of 8 September 2026 they are in three genuinely different states — worth separating, because most published advice still treats them as identical.

3 November 2025

Grade A

is the date Google discontinued the My Business Q&A API, after which businesses and third-party tools could no longer read or post questions and answers programmatically.

Data year
2025
Sample
Not applicable — official API documentation
Geography
Global
Method
Official platform documentation

15 December 2025

Grade B

is when Google confirmed it is removing the public Q&A section from Maps listings, replacing it with an AI-generated "Ask" feature that answers from a business's existing reviews and information rather than owner-submitted answers.

Data year
2025
Sample
Not applicable — reporting a direct Google statement
Geography
Global
Method
Named journalist reporting an official Google forum announcement

What it does not say Graded B rather than A because it's a journalist's report of a Google statement rather than Google's own published documentation page — the claim traces directly to a named Google employee's forum post, which is about as close to primary as reporting gets, but this page has not independently verified that forum post itself.

25%

Grade B

of Google listings had received at least one question through the Q&A feature, in a study spanning over 1,700 locations — ranging from 1% of home-services listings to 35% of auto dealers, and roughly 90% of big-box retail locations such as Home Depot and Target.

Data year
2018
Sample
Over 1,700 locations across multiple industries, plus a dedicated dental-vertical subset
Geography
Not stated, appears US-weighted
Method
Direct analysis of listing Q&A sections

What it does not say The single most useful figure in this study is now purely historical, given Google retired the feature entirely at the end of 2025 — but it's the only disclosed-sample measurement of Q&A adoption this page could locate, real research rather than an invented percentage, which is why it appears here rather than in the do-not-cite section.

77%

Grade B

of questions in GatherUp's dental-vertical deep dive were legitimate — mostly about insurance (38%), specific procedures and pricing (32%) and appointments — while nearly 23% violated Google's terms of service, commonly negative reputation comments disguised as questions.

Data year
2018
Sample
Dental-vertical subset of the 1,700+ location study
Geography
Not stated, appears US-weighted
Method
Direct analysis of listing Q&A sections

What it does not say Historical, and specific to one vertical — useful now mainly as a record of what Q&A actually got used for, since the feature itself is gone and can't be studied directly any further.

31 July 2024

Grade A

is when Google discontinued Business Profile's native in-profile chat and call-history features entirely; for eligible claimed and verified profiles, customers now message a business through text (SMS) or WhatsApp instead.

Data year
2024
Sample
Not applicable — official product documentation
Geography
Global; chat options limited to select regions
Method
Official platform documentation

What it does not say Businesses had until 30 August 2024 to export historic chat and call data via Google Takeout before it was deleted — a genuinely easy deadline to miss on a profile that wasn't actively monitored that month.

What this means for where to spend optimisation time

Posts is the one genuinely live feature of the three, and also the one with the weakest evidence behind it: adoption figures circulating for Posts — a commonly quoted 59.6% usage rate, among others — do not trace to any disclosed study this page could locate, and are catalogued in the do-not-cite section rather than repeated as fact.

Q&A is not a feature to optimise any more at all — Google finished retiring it at the end of 2025, and a guide still advising a business to seed its own Q&A is describing a workflow that no longer functions. Native chat followed the same path in mid-2024, replaced by WhatsApp and SMS messaging that route through the phone network rather than Google's own interface.

The pattern across all three is the one already visible in the ranking-factor movement documented on this site's local SEO statistics page: Google is steadily shifting weight away from features an owner manually curates — posts, self-submitted answers, a chat log — toward information it can verify or generate itself from reviews, structured data and its own AI.

Time spent keeping a profile's core facts accurate — hours, category, services, photos — is now a safer investment than time spent on any single interactive feature, because the interactive features keep changing shape underneath the advice written about them.

Primary category outweighs secondary categories and attributes by a wide margin

The local SEO statistics on this site cover primary category as the single highest-scoring local pack ranking factor. What follows goes one level deeper: the mechanical rule Google actually publishes for choosing a category, and how far behind primary category the same expert panel scores secondary categories and attributes.

"IS", not "HAS"

Grade A

is Google's own stated rule for category selection: a category should describe what the business fundamentally is, and features or amenities belong in attributes instead.

Data year
2026
Sample
Not applicable — official platform guidelines
Geography
Global
Method
Official platform documentation

What it does not say Google's own worked example: a fitness facility with a pool should choose "Health Club", not "Swimming Pool" — the pool is an amenity, not what the business is. The guidelines state directly: "Do not use categories solely as keywords or to describe attributes of your business."

10

Grade B

categories in total is the practical ceiling on a Google Business Profile — one primary category plus up to nine secondary categories.

Data year
2026
Sample
Not applicable — platform mechanics
Geography
Global
Method
Documented platform behaviour

What it does not say Google's own category help page describes the primary/secondary distinction but doesn't itself publish the number nine in the page checked for this record; the count is consistently reported by reputable local SEO sources and matches what's visible inside the dashboard, so it's graded B rather than A.

How much category and attribute choices matter, by ranking context — Whitespark Local Search Ranking Factors 2026
Factor Local pack/Maps Local organic AI search visibility
Primary GBP category227 (rank 1)75 (rank 85)112 (rank 34)
Secondary/additional categories173 (rank 8)53 (rank 106)69 (rank 89)
User-added attributes92 (rank 81)——

Same 47-expert panel and 0–5 scoring method as the primary-category figure already cited on this site's local SEO statistics page, reproduced here specifically for the secondary-category and attribute comparison that page doesn't cover. User-added attributes weren't broken out by local-organic or AI-search-visibility context in the published report. Source: Whitespark, Local Search Ranking Factors 2026

What this means for where to spend category effort

The gap between primary category (227, rank 1 in the local pack) and secondary categories (173, rank 8) looks modest until user-added attributes come in at less than half the primary-category score and rank 81st — a business that has meticulously ticked every attribute box while leaving a vague or wrong primary category has optimised the part the panel says matters least, and left alone the part it says matters most.

Changing a primary category isn't free, either: Google's own guidance notes that editing an existing category can trigger a re-verification requirement, which loops straight back to the verification timelines earlier on this page.

A business considering a category change should expect to lose real-time editing access for however long its available verification method takes, rather than treat the edit as instant. Across a group of branches that risk multiplies, which is why local SEO across multiple locations treats category changes as a staged job rather than a bulk edit.

What the evidence covers

The two hardest numbers on this page — BrightLocal's SMB survey and Birdeye's enterprise platform data — describe opposite ends of the market, and neither describes an international, independent, non-US local business.

There is no published Google Business Profile completeness or verification data specific to India, and the WhatsApp- and Instagram-first discovery pattern common there is invisible to every study cited above.

Google's own switch to WhatsApp as a Business Profile messaging option is, if anything, evidence that pattern is being recognised — but no India-specific adoption data for it was identified in the sources reviewed on 8 September 2026.

The numbers that did not survive the trace

These appear in current statistics roundups. Each one fails on provenance, and quoting them transfers the failure to you.

2.7×

Do not cite

more likely that customers consider a business reputable if its Google Business Profile is complete.

Traced to Attributed to Google in marketing materials, no date or study published.

Repeated on nearly every Google Business Profile statistics page on the internet, always attributed simply to "Google" with no link, no year, no sample. It may be a real internal Google finding. Nobody citing it can show their working, and neither can we — so it does not appear as a citable figure on this page.

70%

Do not cite

more likely to visit a business in person with a complete profile.

Traced to Attributed to Google, no date or study published.

Travels as a pair with the 2.7× figure above and has the identical problem: no traceable original source despite universal attribution to Google.

35%

Do not cite

of Google Business Profiles are suspended every year.

Traced to Circulates attributed to "BrightLocal" in secondary roundups.

No BrightLocal research report containing this figure was identified in the sources reviewed on 8 September 2026. It does, however, appear as a bare, uncited line on BrightLocal's own Learn section ("it happens to 35% of Google Business Profiles every year", last updated October 2025) — meaning the company now repeats a figure on its own site that its own published research doesn't support anywhere this page could find. That makes the number more entrenched, not more credible.

80%+

Do not cite

increase in Google Business Profile suspension reports between Q1 2023 and Q2 2024, commonly attributed to BrightLocal.

Traced to Circulates attributed to "BrightLocal, 2024" across dozens of 2025–2026 marketing blogs.

No BrightLocal page stating this figure was identified in the sources reviewed on 8 September 2026. The two most detailed journalistic accounts of the 2025 suspension spike — Search Engine Journal and Search Engine Roundtable — both state explicitly that no percentage increase has been published by anyone, Google included, and rely instead on forum-monitoring charts their own authors describe as directionally accurate rather than measured. The suspension increase itself is real and well documented qualitatively; the specific 80% figure attached to it is not.

42% / 35%

Do not cite

more direction requests and more website clicks, respectively, for Business Profiles with photos, attributed to Google.

Traced to A 2016 Google blog post, said to be based on a 2014 Google/Oxera study; the figures no longer appear in any current Google Business Profile Help documentation.

The 2016 blog post has been removed from Google's current site, and the Oxera document usually cited alongside it — "The benefits of online platforms", prepared for Google, October 2015 — did not contain these figures in the copy reviewed for this page. A companion claim ("90% more likely to choose a business with photos, 74% see it as more reputable", also attributed to a 1,600-respondent Google study) has the same problem: no current, live source for either number was identified. This page cites the BrightLocal and Localo research above instead, because both remain published with a stated sample.

How this page is made and how to cite it

Each figure was traced to the organisation that produced it, with its own primary or official-documentation page fetched and checked directly rather than relied on secondhand — a distinction that mattered here, since several widely repeated figures (the photo-engagement percentages, the suspension-increase percentage) collapsed under a direct check even though they're routinely presented as settled facts.

Where a claim could not be traced to any publication despite wide repetition, it is recorded in the zombie section with the attribution it usually carries and a note on why that attribution does not hold up.

The suspension section is graded C rather than higher because it is expert observation of forum activity, not a measured dataset with a defined population — a real and useful signal, but a different kind of evidence.

Last verified: 8 September 2026. Reviewed quarterly, and re-checked in full whenever Google announces a change to Business Profile's feature set.

Preferred citation Parashar, S. (2026). Google Business Profile statistics, traced to source. shrutiparashar.com/statistics/google-business-profile/

Questions

What percentage of businesses have a Google Business Profile?
35% of US small and medium businesses say they have one, per BrightLocal's SMB Marketing Report 2025 (n=778, self-reported). That figure likely understates actual profile existence, since Google frequently auto-generates profiles that owners never claim — meaning the true gap is between having a profile and knowing you have one, which a self-reported survey cannot measure.
Are Google Business Profile suspensions increasing?
By expert account, yes. Mike Blumenthal, a recognised Google Business Profile authority, documented appeal timelines stretching from roughly five days to five weeks between early 2025 and early 2026 based on direct monitoring of Google's own support forum. This is credible practitioner observation, not a measured study — Google has not published suspension statistics, and no independent dataset with a disclosed sample was identified in the sources reviewed.
Is it true that complete profiles get 2.7 times more trust?
This figure, and a companion '70% more likely to visit' statistic, are both attributed to Google on nearly every statistics page covering this topic — and neither traces to a published study, date, or sample. They may reflect a genuine internal Google finding, but as of 8 September 2026 no source could verify it. Treat both as unverifiable rather than repeat them.
Does 35% of profiles get suspended every year?
No substantiated research report containing this figure was found. It circulates attributed to BrightLocal, and even appears as a bare, uncited line on BrightLocal's own Learn section — but a direct check of BrightLocal's published research did not surface a study containing it. This looks like a fabricated attribution that has since worked its way into the source it's credited to, which is precisely the pattern this page exists to catch.
How long does it take to verify a Google Business Profile?
It depends on the method Google offers, which depends on the business type and location. Phone, text and email verification typically complete within minutes; live video verification and postcard both add Google's stated 'up to 5 business days' review window on top of their own delivery time. Postcard is the slowest common method — Google says most codes arrive within 14 days and expire after 30 — so a postcard-verified profile can realistically take close to three weeks from request to a fully editable, live listing, not the 14 days usually quoted on its own.
Do more photos actually help a Google Business Profile?
The evidence points that way, though the exact multiplier depends on which study you're reading and neither is current. BrightLocal's analysis of 45,264 listings (September 2017–December 2018) found businesses with 100+ photos received 520% more calls, 2,717% more direction requests and 1,065% more website clicks than the average listing in the sample, while flagging its own confound — heavily photographed businesses may simply manage their whole profile better. A newer, much larger Localo analysis of over 2 million profiles found top-3 ranking positions carry roughly 250 photos on average against about 170 for positions 11–20, a correlation rather than a causal test. The specific '42% more direction requests, 35% more website clicks' figure attributed directly to Google does not trace to any current Google source and is not used on this page for that reason.
Is Google Business Profile Q&A still available?
Functionally, no. Google discontinued the My Business Q&A API on 3 November 2025, and confirmed on 15 December 2025 that it is removing the public Q&A section from Maps listings in favour of an AI-generated 'Ask' feature that answers from a business's existing reviews and information rather than owner-submitted answers. A GatherUp study from 2018 — the only disclosed-sample Q&A adoption data identified for this page — found 25% of over 1,700 listings had received at least one question, ranging from 1% in home services to 35% among auto dealers, but that data is now purely historical given the feature's retirement.
Can customers still message a business through Google Business Profile chat?
Not through the original in-profile chat feature, which Google discontinued on 31 July 2024 along with call history, according to its own Business Profile Help documentation. For eligible claimed and verified profiles, customers now message a business through text (SMS) or WhatsApp instead, in the regions where those chat options are available. Any guidance describing the old native chat interface, or citing engagement statistics for it, is describing a feature that no longer exists.
How many categories can a Google Business Profile have, and does it matter which ones you pick?
One primary category plus up to nine secondary categories, ten in total, per reputable local SEO sources tracking the dashboard limit; Google's own guidelines don't publish the number nine but do publish the selection rule — choose categories that describe what the business fundamentally IS, not features or amenities it HAS, which belong in attributes instead. It matters a great deal which one is primary: Whitespark's 2026 panel of 47 experts scores primary category as the single highest-weighted local pack ranking factor (227), against 173 for secondary categories and just 92 for attributes — a gap wide enough that a business obsessing over attribute checkboxes while leaving a vague primary category has its priorities backwards.
Is there a real increase in Google Business Profile suspensions, or just louder complaints?
Both practitioner-reported evidence and forum-monitoring point to a genuine rise, but no organisation — Google included — has published a measured suspension rate or a percentage increase, so treat the trend as real and the specific numbers attached to it with caution. A commonly quoted '80%+ increase between Q1 2023 and Q2 2024, per BrightLocal' does not trace to any BrightLocal page identified in the sources reviewed on 8 September 2026; the two most detailed contemporaneous accounts, from Search Engine Journal and Search Engine Roundtable, explicitly state that no percentage figure has been published and rely on forum-monitoring charts their own authors call directionally accurate rather than measured.

Related reading: the evidence standard these pages are held to , Local SEO statistics , Google Maps statistics .

This is one page of a graded statistics library that also names the 68 widely repeated claims it could not trace.

Start here

An unchecked profile is losing visibility.

Send your profile over — we'll tell you exactly what's missing.

Replies usually go out within one working day.